NEW MUSIC: 06v1 CurseTheNight by Tee Pee Records

06v1 CurseTheNight
NYC volume dealers MIRROR QUEEN will release their new album, Verdigris, on October 27 via Tee Pee Records. A masterclass of riff-driven melodic hard rock, the LP is the follow-up to the band’s 2015’s LP, Scaffolds of the Sky, hailed as “a masterful mix of genre-hopping, chops and songwriting” by Verbicide.

Combining edgy, street-level rock ‘n’ roll with more cerebral elements of poetry and literature, MIRROR QUEEN rides hard and loud, kicking out the jams at every opportunity. Here the songs are expansive and lush in their textures, with ethereal songwriting full of crossing guitar lines and an insistent, demanding rhythmic throb. Featuring additional guitars from SWANS six-stringer Norman Westberg, Verdigris is a rock monolith, all dark delight and sinister pleasure, that demands headbanging and fists raised to the sky.

A mainstay in the NYC hard rock scene, MIRROR QUEEN has shared the stage with heavyweight peers such as Earthless and The Shrine and toured Europe with legends such as Uli Jon Roth and UFO. The group’s driving music accelerates at the distinct point where NWOBHM and heavy Prog Rock intersect; a direct and definite delineation of an era when urgent metallic sound was the order of the day.

Track listing:

1.) Poignard
2.) Flying Eyes
3.) Sorrow’s End / Dark Kiss of the Sun
4.) Starliner
5.) Verdigris
6.) Curse the Night

MIRROR QUEEN features Kenny Kreisor (guitar, vocals), Jeremy O’Brien (drums), Morgan McDaniel (guitar) and James Corallo (bass).

“Mirror Queen sound precise where many ’70s-obsessed stoner bands are willing to get a little loose, and if the tunes sound a bit doomstruck, the band manages to give them clean surfaces to go along with the towering guitars and relentless drumming​…New York City’s bringers-of-the-heavy” – ALL MUSIC

“NYC’s Mirror Queen veers between down and dirty Lizzy/UFOisms and the proggier side of Iron Maiden” – BLURT

Leave a Reply